Sunday, November 6, 2016

3 Star review ~ Heated Pursuit (Alpha Security #1) by April Hunt

29246613


The first in an all-new romantic suspense series from debut author April Hunt, perfect for fans of Julie Ann Walker, Lora Leigh, and Rebecca Zanetti!

TROPICAL HEAT

Penny Kline didn't come to Honduras on a pleasure trip. She's here to rescue her kidnapped niece, the only family she's got left. What she didn't plan on was walking into a covert ops mission---or being wrapped up in the hard-muscled arms of Rafe Ortega. The cool-as-ice operative's touch may get her all hot and bothered, but no man can have a hold on her heart until her niece is home where she belongs.

Even in the tropics, Alpha Security operative Rafe can take down the bad guys without breaking a sweat. Hostage extractions. Clandestine missions. Those are the things he's been trained to handle. Relationships? Not so much. But one look at this strong, sexy redhead and he's seized by a fierce urge to protect her at all costs. Now Penny and Rafe will have to up their game because they're about to go into a master criminal's lair without backup, and the danger---and passion---is about to explode . . .

Buy Now!!
Amazon:  http://amzn.to/2fuWiKU

Review:

It was really hard to rate this book so I went in the middle between a 2.5 and 4 star book.  I loved the characters and each of them had depth but I felt like there was something that I really needed and wanted but couldn't get out of the characters.

The story line was wonderful and I enjoyed the jungle scene but the lack of "drama" and "danger" with this type of story line kept me looking for more.

Penny is looking for her niece, who was taken, but a drug lord.  Little does she know her world would be changing in ways that she could only imagine.  Rafe and he "brother" are ops who are trying to take the same person down. These two meet unexpectedly and it was sparks when the looked at each other.  

The mission, the lust, the danger that could have taken place and what had taken place was great.  I loved the interaction between the two.  Both Rafe and Penny had demons that made them not think they were worthy of each other and didn't know how to let their feelings take over and live.  

The interaction and commitment that had toward each other and the "mission" was true and worth reading.  With that being said, I needed more from them and more of the mission to come through to make me want to continue with the book and series.

No comments:

Post a Comment